He loves me, yes I know

Friday, March 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve been asking God a lot of things lately — things that deeply concern me. Finally, he answered. During my quiet time yesterday, He led me to Psalms 32, 33, and 86, where His love was described as unfailing and abounding. God was clearly comforting me with the knowledge of His love; it’s as if He was saying, “I love you. My love is enough. Because you know I love you, you can rest. You can rest in my love.”

This is what I imagine our conversations have looked like:

Me: Lord, I want this.

God: I love you.

Me: Lord, I want to go to this.

God: I love you.

Me: Lord, I’m afraid. Please direct my steps.

God: I love you.

Me: Lord, can you hear me?

God: I love you.

Isn’t that sweet? God obviously matches my concerns with His love. He wants me to focus not on my situation but to look instead on the magnitude of His affection. I’ve been a Christian long enough that His love for me has sort of become a platitude, a very familiar concept. So God now is reminding me by refreshing my attitude toward His love. He wants me to digest it like a sumptuous meal I’ve never tasted before.

Yes, I have needs. Yes, I have desires. But God’s love is enough to cover all those and more. And this makes me realize that knowing His love is far more important than pursuing other things. Because I know He loves me,  I can sit back and trust with renewed vigor.

Now, isn’t God’s love the greatest and most comforting answer to my pleas? I know it is, because it’s that one thing that can truly and sufficiently sustain me. It’s what I really need and, in my heart of hearts, desire.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading He loves me, yes I know at Journal the Sojourn.

meta

